DUP launches Assembly Election Candidates

The Democratic Unionist Party has announced its team of forty-four candidates for the forthcoming Northern Ireland Assembly election. DUP Leader, Rt. Hon. Peter Robinson MLA said that the DUP will be taking a positive message to the people of Northern Ireland.  Speaking today, Mr. Robinson said:

“The DUP is offering a very strong slate of candidates throughout Northern Ireland in this crucial Assembly election. I am particularly pleased that we have a strong mix of experienced public representatives and new candidates to offer the electorate. The emergence of new candidates is reflective of the way in which the DUP is expanding to bring new people in to front-line representation. They all have very strong roots in their communities and a capacity to really influence things for the better.

On 5th May voters will have a choice to make. We can move forward and build on the progress of recent years or we can be dragged backwards to instability and conflict. We want to build on progress so far and ensure that Unionism retains its leadership role in the Executive. Every vote will be vital and we’ll be working hard to engage people who have never voted before or who feel elections don’t matter.

This election will be focused on the economy and which party can provide policies to steer us through the massive cuts being handed down to the Executive by the Conservative/Liberal Democrat government.  Despite the £4billion cuts to our budget, we are a low tax party and will be offering policies to keep household bills low whilst creating the conditions to help business flourish.

Our campaign will be positive and we will be offering people the chance to vote to keep Northern Ireland moving forward.”


East Belfast
Sammy Douglas
Robin Newton
Peter Robinson

North Belfast
Paula Bradley
William Humphrey
Nelson McCausland

West Belfast
Brian Kingston

South Belfast
Ruth Patterson
Jimmy Spratt

William Hay

West Tyrone
Allan Bresland
Tom Buchanan

Newry & Armagh
William Irwin

South Down
Jim Wells

Jonathan Bell
Simon Hamilton
Michelle McIlveen
William Walker

North Down
Gordon Dunne
Alex Easton
Peter Weir

Upper Bann
Sydney Anderson
Stephen Moutray

Mid Ulster
Ian McCrea

Fermanagh & South Tyrone
Arlene Foster
Maurice Morrow

Lagan Valley
Jonathan Craig
Paul Givan
Brenda Hale
Edwin Poots

South Antrim
Trevor Clarke
Paul Girvan
Pam Lewis

North Antrim
Paul Frew
David McIlveen
Mervyn Storey
Evelyne Robinson

East Londonderry
Gregory Campbell
Adrian McQuillan
George Robinson

East Antrim
David Hilditch
Gordon Lyons
Alastair Ross
Sammy Wilson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *